Welcome to WVHA.org

WVHA Team

Office of the President 

 

Jim Kaufman, President and CEO
jkaufman@wvha.org | 304.353.9716


WVHA President & CEO Jim Kaufman has nearly 25 years of healthcare experience.  Prior to joining the Association, Jim served as vice president of Public Policy for the Children's Hospital Association, representing over 220 hospital organizations and pediatric programs dedicated to improving child health through innovation in care, education and research. At the federal level, he has worked on higher education reauthorization, state Children’s Health Insurance Program reauthorization, Medicare physician payments reform, funding for embryonic stem cell research, Medicaid, National Institutes of Health reauthorization and numerous appropriations. He joined WVHA in November 2020.

Kathy Watts, Executive Assistant to the President/Director of Corporate Events
kwatts@wvha.org | 304.353.9723 


Jan McComas, Receptionist/Administrative Assistant
jmccomas@wvha.org​ | 304.344.9744


Legislative Advocacy/Grassroots and Communications

Tony J. Gregory, Vice President, Legislative Affairs
tgregory@wvha.org | 304.353.9719 ​

Brandon Hatfield, General Counsel
bhatfield@wvha.org​ | 304.353.9720 


Tina Rymer, Director, Communications and Grassroots Advocacy
trymer@wvha.org | 304.353.9717 


Jacob Hall, Project Manager
jhall@wvha.org | 304.353.9734 ​


Coordinates WVHA legislative strategy and advocacy efforts.  Develops legislative policy and strategy, monitors state and federal policy that affects healthcare and hospitals and implements plan to address legislative priorities for the Association.  Assists hospitals with cultivating relationships with government officials at all levels.

Updates members on pending legislation and regulations.  Develops publications and other materials to inform and educate the media and public about healthcare issues.

Grassroots Advocacy - coordinates grassroots advocacy activities through local hospital networks (HOSNET) to support WVHA public policy agenda.

Political Action - Organizes fundraising campaigns and coordinates the endorsement process of statewide elected officials and candidates through the hospital political action committee (HOSPAC).
 

Financial Policy Development

Carol Haugen, Vice President, Financial Policy
chaugen@wvha.org | 304.353.9721

 
Coordinates WVHA advocacy efforts and develops Association policy with regard to Medicare, Medicaid, PEIA and other governmental payor financing issues and the development of managed care in West Virginia.

Provides Data services and information, provides guidelines and suggests strategies to assist member hospitals to effectively monitor financial health.
 

Quality and Data Services

Jim Kranz, Vice President, Quality and Data Services
jkranz@wvha.org | 304.353.9712 ​


Hallie Morgan, Director, Data Analysis
hmorgan@wvha.org | 304.353.9714 ​


Liz Tate, Director, Data Collection and Training
ltate@wvha.org | 304.353.9710 ​


Ron Vickers, Director, Information Services
rvickers@wvha.org | 304.353.9760 ​


Jacob Hall, Project Manager
jhall@wvha.org | 304.353.9734 ​


Responsible for issues related to hospital licensure, quality improvement organization activities, medical practice acts, licensing boards and actions, quality, utilization review, risk management, malpractice, medical records, infection control, outcome measurement, medical staff issues, hospital accreditation issues, AHA data profiles, database development and maintenance, and Internet/Intranet development and maintenance.
 

Critical Access Hospital Network

Dianna Iobst, Executive Director, CAH Network
diobst@hefwv.org | 304.353.9715 


Coordinates the activities of the WVHA Critical Access Hospital (CAH) Network.  The WVHA CAH Network was established in 2004 with the coordination and support of the West Virginia Hospital Association.  The CAH Network receives financial support through member dues with grant funding from the West Virginia Rural Health Systems Program administered by the West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources.
 

Emergency Preparedness

Samantha Stamper, Director, Emergency Preparedness
sstamper@hefwv.org | 304.353.9728


Lisa Green, Program Manager
lgreen@hefwv.org | 304.353.9705 


Provides support to individual hospitals and hospital planning regions in being prepared for all types of emergencies and disasters. Through the WVHA coordinated Statewide Disaster Taskforce, participating hospitals receive funding for emergency response equipment and supplies, training opportunities, and assistance with exercises to test and improve response plans. WVHA is a sub-recipient of federal Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (ASPR) funds, through the West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources.
 

West Virginia Health Services

Patrick Kelly, Vice President, Shared Services
pkelly@wvha.org | 304-353.9756


Matt Archer, Director, Member Solutions
marcher@wvha.org | 304-353-9742 


Anita Smith, Director, Member Solutions
anita.smith@wvha.org | 304-353-9727  


West Virginia Health Services (WVHS), Inc. is a subsidiary of the West Virginia Hospital Association.  WVHS' mission is "To provide cost effective 'core' related health services owned or offered jointly by West Virginia Health Services and others to healthcare providers and/or health-related support businesses."
 

Business Office

Patrick Kelly, Vice President, Shared Services and CFO
pkelly@wvha.org | 304-353.9756


Janice Fink, Controller
jfink@wvha.org | 304.353.9724